Weekly Update – Beginning of June


It’s been over a week now since I’ve updated, and I am a bit behind for my weekend post too.  We’ve been having a busy June so far and it will continue being busy.  This weekend I am going to attempt to have a rummage sale so I’ve been getting ready for that, and then the following weekend is Bridgefest and the first local parade of the season! Then before we know it, it will be the 4th of July and then I’m going to run in this years’ Canal Run and pretty soon it will be September and time for Joe’s Iron Man.

We’ve been trying to get outside a lot when it is nice out but I don’t take a lot of pictures outside because I’d have to carry my phone or camera and I try not to take them outside with me (so I don’t have to keep track of them and not break them). We have gone to the play ground a bunch and regularly take Cora out on walks.  James also got a new little T-Ball set we have been (sort of) playing with.  He likes to play with it in his own way anyways and all kinds of buckets, rocks, trucks, his slide, shovels… whatever he can find outside is fair game.  Today he found an ancient dirty jump rope in one of our buildings and it was the best toy ever.  He especially liked having me hold onto one end and then he held onto the other and we took turns leading each other around. Fun!

Here are some of the activities we’ve had going on inside lately.

20150602_164713

Water play with different colours and buckets of water along with different scoops for mixing and transferring… and some plastic bugs for good measure.

20150604_091710

Lots of tower building with blocks and Mega  Blocks.  This was an awesome tower but we knocked it over.  We’ve had a couple that made it as tall as me because James like to make them tall.  He will pick up a piece and then I lift him up to put it on top until it falls over from being too tall.

20150604_105118

Rice sensory bin.  Yes, it was incredibly messy but we had fun and it swept up pretty easy.

20150604_105129

One afternoon we took this big red tub and random toys outside and played in the grass with soapy water.  Other days we play in the dirt in the flower beds. Like today, James came inside covered from head to toe in dirt because we were burried his bare feet and he dug holes and even rubbed his head in it.  I guess dirt feels good in his hair.

20150606_111450

This past weekend Joe and I took James to a little Farm Day event.  He got to pet baby farm animals and do some activities! Mostly he didn’t really care about the activities they let him have some prizes anyways and he also got ice cream.

20150606_111707 20150606_175706

Found on Pinterest, this $10 Connect Four game is pretty fun! James filled up the entire thing twice while I was putting groceries away but now since then he has only half-heartedly done it… he has more fun finding other places to his the chips and playing with them in other ways.

20150607_095311

This activity was also fun for awhile but then James lost interest and I had to take it away because he wanted to dance around with it and those sticks are hard wooden skewers.  The goal is to thread the coloured noodles onto the skewers.  He did really well, it was easy for him, which is maybe why he got distracted and bored.  He also decided that it was fun to put the noodles in his front teeth and crack them in half.  This activity is not currently out for him to pick anymore… maybe will get it out again off and on but I don’t want him to crack all the noodles in half after I took the time to dye them and I don’t want him to hurt himself with skewers 🙂

20150607_154517

Sunday was rainy and I was browsing the local Facebook rummage sale page and found these puzzles so James and I took a drive to Calumet while Joe did homework (his class is going well and I think he is doing great but the homework takes forever to do… like hours and hours and hours every week!)  James got really good at puzzles all of a sudden so he seemed to like these… although he also likes to pretend drive the cars around the house too.

20150609_191829

Two last pictures from tonight! An incredibly dirty toddler…his legs and feet and head were covered in dirt from outside, his belly was covered in our pasta supper and then we were getting ready to go up for bath when he brought me the Sun butter and wanted more to eat, so he stood at the counter and demolished close to 10 tortilla chips covered in Sun butter. Apparently the best snack ever!  James has been dragging his steps over to the counter lately anytime he wants to help or inspect what I am doing in the kitchen.  He is a very good cooking helper!

20150609_191832

Leave a Reply

