December Book and Activity Advent – Days 17, 18, 19 and 20


Well our unofficial activity for the 17th and 18th was ‘mom has the stomach flu’.  We did open books but especially on the 17th it was a pretty lame day.  James pretty much got to do whatever he wanted as long as he wasn’t hurting himself or breaking anything.  I couldn’t even manage to take Cora outside I was so miserable.  We did read lots of books and watched some cartoons and played with whatever toys James brought to me either downstairs or up in his room… plus we took two naps and then I went to bed at about 8:15 with James and we did not wake up until almost 9 the following morning!  Joe had to come home and take Cora out, then do a tiny bit of snow blowing and roof shoveling and then he went out to Wal-Mart to pick up some stuff like soup and 7up and we had that for supper.

Joe was also super duper nice that evening to me… he got James into his jammies and read him his books while I laid by them on the floor and then after James and I went to bed Joe came downstairs and did the dishes and cleaned up the house for me…. because it was totally trashed. I wish I had had the energy to photograph it before and after he cleaned it up. Usually I do at least 2 and sometimes more cleanups during the day and then we get toys out and make a mess again… and I didn’t do any that day, so the house really was pretty trashed!

The 18th and 19th I thought I was all better when I woke up but by the end of the day I was not doing so hot again.  Today I woke up feeling good and I still feel fine now, but I thought I was totally better so I requested Burger King for lunch.  Can we all assume that Burger King should not be the first large meal you eat after having stomach flu? Yea, who would have thought right? I haven’t been able to keep anything in the entire rest of the day. It was tasty, but I set myself way back, even the soup broth I tried for supper was bad! But at least I don’t have a headache or fever or anything like that.  Now as I type I’m trying some of the Pedialyte I keep on hand in case James ever needs it… it’s not tasty but maybe it will help.

20141220_172934

Here are all of our last books!

We have over the past several days gotten a lot done still… Joe has been to the dentist and the doctor for a checkup this week.  James and I missed our date with Eleanor but felt well enough Thursday afternoon to run to town with Joe and get our packages shipped to our families… we were supposed to do that Wednesday but that did not happen.  I also managed to wash all the blankets, sheets and bedding and James and I did a total clean out in the pantry… we threw about 6 bags of stuff.  A lot of it was things like egg cartons and I purged some of our cloth bags and got rid of some outdated spices etc.  It looks so nice in there now, I love it!

20141220_183814

James is just so flexible!

20141220_183821Today Joe, James and I went to the dump, the post office, the bank and then to Calumet.  I was hoping there would be horse and sleigh rides there today like there is sometimes before Christmas but there were none.  Then we got my ill-fated Burger King lunch and luckily spent the afternoon at home! Now tonight James as asleep and Joe and I are watching a movie! I’d love to eat popcorn but I’m guessing that’s a bad idea so maybe I will hold off 🙂

Leave a Reply

