Amazon and Target Subscribe and Save


We are in our second month now of using the new subscribe and save/subscription services from Amazon and Target and so far it’s going pretty good so I thought I’d make a post about the stuff we’re getting and how its working.

20140912_13135062lb worth of stuff just arrived from UPS! Cora and James both wanted to check out the boxes but nobody volunteered to help carry them inside 🙂

About half of our items come from Amazon, we are Amazon Prime members and take advantage of a lot of the benefits that come with that. The items we currently subscribe to from Amazon include:

  • Baby Wipes
  • Diapers
  • Toilet Paper
  • My shampoo
  • Unisom
  • Bird Food
  • Rabbit Food
  • Rabbit Hay
  • Diaper Pail Refills
  • Cat Litter

Most of the products are the same items I would buy locally but either they are cheaper on Amazon or they are similarly priced and it’s just easier to get it shipped right to the door.  I did switch cat litter brands in order to use Subscribe and Save and I’m not super thrilled with it so that is the one item I may remove from the list and continue to buy locally.  The bird and rabbit foods are different brands as well but they are comparable to what I was buying.

What I like about Amazon: A pretty good selection of products and pretty quick shipping.  Plus Amazon bills once per month and all of my items arrive together.  For example, our date is the 15th of each month so around the 6th of each month Joe gets a warning email that our order is about to be placed.  This way I can adjust something last minute if needed and we are prepared for the charge. You can select how often you get Amazon items in monthly increments from one to six months. You can skip an item for a month if you don’t need it. Lastly, with Amazon you can set up an order ahead of time. For example, if I know I want to subscribe and save toilet paper but we don’t need any for two months I can set it up now and tell Amazon I want my first shipment two months from now. So I was able to set up a lot of items all at once and not have to log in a ton to get everything set up over the course of several months.

What I don’t like about Amazon:  The flip side of billing once monthly is that some somethings we go through every 5 weeks or 7 weeks or something that isn’t by the month so sometimes we will be off on our ordering.  To get a full 20% off the order with Amazon you have to have 5 things shipping for the month, otherwise you only get a 5% discount and that changes the prices quite a bit.  I’ve worked on ours to try and make sure there are at least 5 things shipping each month.

The other half of our items come from Target.  These are items I could not get in the Amazon program but can get through Target! Target does their system a bit differently and you can adjust your ordering by the week, so I could get something every 5 weeks instead of every 4 etc.

20140912_132224 The shipment from above all unpacked and ready to get put away.  This one included diapers, wipes, diaper pail refills, rabbit food and cat litter.

These are the items I get from Target:

  • Paper towel
  • Dish soap
  • Razor blades
  • Listerine
  • Face wash

I also have plans to set up dryer sheets, my conditioner, and Joe’s shampoo with Target but haven’t done it yet.

What I like about Target: There is a pretty good selection of items, including a few I can’t get at Amazon. I can adjust how often we get items by the week.  There is a flat 5% discount on items so I can get one item or many.  Shipping is alright, sometimes it seems slower but I think it is actually similar to Amazon’s and may just take longer due to our mail man than any fault with Target!

What I don’t like about Target: Because items can be more individualized they ship separate and not the same time each month. So I may get 3 different shipments from Target and they won’t renew at the same time each month so I’ve got to keep an eye out for emails so I know when charges will come.  You can’t set up future first shipments.  Once you set up an item you can adjust when the next will arrive but for the first time you get it as soon as you order it… which is why I haven’t set up the last couple items from Target yet. Once they are low I will order them and get those going too.

There are a few things I annoyingly cannot get because the brands I want are unavailable and the brands that are are either too expensive or I just don’t want them.   These things include: Toothpaste, Laundry Soap, Shaving Cream, and household trash bags.  Plus there are a few other things like James’ soap, deodorant, contact solution etc. that I haven’t looked into yet but eventually will.  So far so good though! 62lb in the mail is way better than 62lb hauled in and out of the cart, car and house…especially with James in tow!

Leave a Reply

