Spicy Sausage Soup and Homemade Crackers


Even though today is Sunday, it feels like a normal workday around here instead because Joe had to go to work.  At 9:40pm he has been there well over 12 hours already today!  James has been in bed for awhile and poor Joe didn’t get to say goodnight to him but he did get to say good morning and play a bunch with him earlier today to make up for it.  James woke up for the day at 7 and I was still very tired… Joe found us probably around 7:30 ‘playing’ on the floor in his room.  Which really means James was laying on his play mat checking out his overhead toys while mama was half falling asleep laying next to him.  Daddy joined in and we put James in the middle of us and played and talked to him and sort of dozed while he was wide awake and happy.  I’m sure it would have been a funny picture to see Joe all wrapped up in a blanket, me with my head on a teddy bear as a pillow with both of us so tired and James wiggling around wide awake and happy between us just ready to go for the day!  We did manage to get downstairs maybe around 8:30 or so and shortly thereafter Joe headed in to work for the day.

James and I hung out here, we did some laundry, made homemade crackers, put a couple things on craigslist, checked our ebay account and took some stuff down to the basement.  I took the dog out several times, and all the normal stuff feeding animals, collecting eggs, sweeping floors.  James took a nap from about 10-1 and then 3:30-5:30.  I talked to my family on the phone for awhile and finally managed to take a shower at like 5!  James helped me dry my hair then and get some stuff together for supper.  We also had lots of playtime on the floor and practicing rolling and grabbing toys and sitting up.  Plus there was bathtime and our bedtime routine.

Now there is some spicy sausage soup on the stove and I am waiting for Joe to come home so we can hang out for a little bit and have supper and leftover birthday cake before heading to bed.  Our soup is actually a locally made mix we got from some friends for Christmas, it has wild rice and barley in it with a beef/bacon base to it.  Then, I’ve been attempting to use meat from the freezer before it gets too old, so I thawed a half-tube of Jimmy Dean hot Italian sausage and cooked that up with some chopped carrot, onion and garlic and added that to the soup too.  We will find out shortly if that was a mistake or not… it sounded like it would be tasty!  Plus, we will have the crackers I made earlier from this tutorial here. All you really need is 3 cups of flour, 2tsp sugar, 2tsp salt, 1 cup water, 4 tablespoonsful olive oil and then any toppings you want on your cracker (click through for good photos and topping ideas).  Then you roll them real thin, cut them into cracker shapes of your choice and bake at 450F for 12-15 minutes.  I used 1.5 cups of white flour, 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of spelt flour for my crackers and I topped them with just salt this time.  I think they turned out pretty good for my first attempt although my second tray needed to be rolled thinner and my cutting needs some work, I don’t think any two crackers are the same size!

IMG_0226

Leave a Reply

