Our last 2 CSA Shares


Our CSA season is done for the year…. we got lots of great produce and some produce we didn’t end up using but at least what we did use we know where it came from! I think Joe will be especially happy to have the season finished since I worked the majority of Saturday’s and made it to the first one or two pickups and then I got the last pickup this week on Wednesday… otherwise he had to go get them all by himself and I’m the one who wanted to sign up for it! I’m not sure if we will sign up again next year or not.  This was our third year and it’s always good but some things we just don’t use and I don’t know about Joe but some things i just plain don’t like… like kohlrabi and greens that taste bitter and I think I learned this year that I don’t love celeriac either, although I will eat them all they just wouldn’t be my first choice in the grocery store!  So we’ll see but I might try to grow a small garden again, close to the house where I can keep it maintained and grow things I know we will eat.

WP_001251

This share included:

  • Tomatos
  • Carrots
  • Cabbage
  • Brussels sprout tops
  • Radish
  • Celeriac
  • Potatoes
  • Leeks (although Joe and I thought/think they were really green onions)
  • Rutabaga

 

WP_001297

This share included:

  • A pumpkin
  • Tomatos
  • Basil
  • Mixed greens
  • Lettuce
  • Rutabaga
  • Lots of carrots
  • Beets
  • Several types of radish
  • Celeriac
  • Radish
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Green onions
Leave a Reply

