Morning Doves and Chickadees


The outside birds and I have our routine down now.  I fill up the bird feeder by 8am and then the smallest birds move in for their breakfast and by 9 the bigger morning doves are moving in for their breakfast.  Sometimes the smaller ones will still stick around but they flit in and out of the bigger ones getting what they can.  Then by 11 the bird feeder is empty for the most part and they move on to somewhere else I guess.  Late afternoon they generally stop back just incase I have refilled the feeder – which usually I haven’t, but once in awhile I will leave some extra out for them.  I’m usually not home to refill it anyways and they gorge themselves in the morning and nobody looks starving so I mostly do it once a day.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

 

I usually try to shovel out a bigger area under the bird feeder for all of the doves to come in.  Then I put feed on the ground for them too.  Lately it just keeps snowing and snowing though so I’m a bit behind in shoveling for them.  Other doves wait in the tree up to the left while the little birds sit in the lilac all waiting for their turns!  I’m pretty sure I need to install a couple more bird feeders in the spring.  Maybe I can have a row of them and buy bird seed in bulk!  I love coming downstairs in the mornings (when I’m working late so I’m still home) and seeing everybody eating their breakfast.  This is the view from our kitchen window, right above the sink.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Leave a Reply

