Almond Milk


We tried something new here this week…. almond milk.  I have heard of it before but neither of us had tried it.  Then I read about it in a nutrition book I just got this week and on an impulse I decided to try it.  I thought it would be a good idea to run to Wal-Mart directly after my spin class one day at 7am to get a few things we needed while I was close by.  I ended up with lunch for Joe, avocados, almond milk, shredded cheese (to put on the avocado) and a couple other things we needed from other parts of the store.  At least I didn’t end up with doughnuts!  Almond milk comes in a variety of flavours, sweetened/unsweetened, vanilla, chocolate etc. just like soy milk does.  We like all the types of soy milk so I decided to get plain almond milk to try first, assuming that we would of course like it if it was chocolate flavoured.  Turns out I like plain, unsweetened almond milk but Joe think it is pretty gross.  Joe does like regular almonds so maybe he would like the flavoured ones better.  He also drinks a lot of V8 and cherry juice when we have it, along with regular milk or soy milk if we have that too… so we’re even.  I do not like V8 or cherry juice myself.  Originally I thought the specialty milks were expensive so we only buy them occasionally but looking at the prices it is under $2.50 to buy a half gallon of specialty milk and regular milk gallons are over $4 so it really isn’t that much different to purchase other types of milk.  Which would be in addition to our gallon + of store skim milk, and my gallon of whole, raw milk each week of course… we would still buy that but I think I will keep almond or soy milk on hand now too.  Maybe try rice milk as well, a coworker of mine said she likes that a lot.  Almond milk is chock full of vitamins and minerals including even more calcium per cup than regular milk.  Pretty interesting.  I’ve had it on either oatmeal or warm granola all week (with blueberries, flax seed one both and a bit of brown sugar for the oatmeal ones) , and plain several times too and I like it.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Cora seemed really interested in the almond milk so on the off chance that she might like it, I let her try a bit… and she drank it right down.  I was expecting her to sniff it and walk away.  She doesn’t like whole almonds.

WP_000575

Leave a Reply

