Peanut Butter Bird Treats


After my pine cone treats were so popular I decided to make the birds some cardboard peanut butter treats.  I figured that way there were more spots for them to eat from…especially for the little guys because when the morning doves come in their huge flock each morning the littlest birds don’t get to eat then, although they often come back later.  This year not only do we have the little chickadees and all of our morning doves I have also seen a couple of smaller wood peckers, our blue jay and now we have little birds called red polls.  They are small like chickadees but aren’t the same.  Then male redpolls have red on their head and chest and I guess they come from the arctic and this is where they overwinter.   I learned that from a lady at work who loves, loves, loves birds and bird watching.   I actually though of this one day after she mentioned peanut butter.  She said you can smear it right on the bark of a tree and the birds just love it.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

I just used an old cardboard box, bird seed, string and peanut butter

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

I cut out random shapes from the cardboard but you really couldn’t tell when the peanut butter was smeared on there so it doesn’t really matter anyways.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

I even made one for the house finches although they think I’m crazy.  I don’t know if they are too lazy to eat from a hanging treat when they can land right in their bowl and laze in their food if they want, or if they prefer their inside bird food compared with the outside bird food I used, or maybe they don’t like peanut butter.  Either way, they didn’t seem to interested in it but I left it there incase they change their minds.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Some of the others hanging outside in the lilac tree.  The house birds one I just put peanut butter and seed on one side of the cardboard but the outdoor ones have it smeared onto both sides of the cardboard.  The outside birds seemed to like it, they found them almost right away and have been poking at them.

Leave a Reply

