Homemade Pasta


Along with trying to make homemade sour cream, and trying to make dessert without going to the store… I also made some homemade pasta on my day off! We got pasta maker attachments for Christmas for our Kitchen Aid mixer and hadn’t had a chance to try them out yet.  I picked a simple recipe from one of Joe’s new cookbooks (I’ll include the recipe next time, when we get it to work perfectly!) for plain whole grain pasta.  I thought I should get regular pasta to work first before I experimented with barley, or spinach or one of the more different styles of pasta.

I had no idea how much pasta the recipe would make and it had no ‘servers 4’ listed by it so I decided to make a double batch just in case.  I later learned from Joe that all the recipes in the book are for serving four people.  Lesson learned because my double patch made a lot of pasta.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

The recipe had only a few ingredients and the Kitchen Aid mixer did most of the work in mixing the dough.  Then I switched out the attachments and hooked up the dough rollers and they pretty much took care of the rest! Besides finding room for all that pasta, I had very little work to do!  We don’t have a pasta drying rack yet so I used our warping board in the laundry room to hold all of my pasta.  One batch would have been sufficient! 🙂

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

The only thing that was a bit strange with my pasta was when I was dusting it with flour because I was worried it would stick together I used the whole grain flour that I had out and when I cooked it that made the pasta a bit gummy.  Joe suggested next time I use regular flour or even corn meal like some people do and that might make it better.  I probably didn’t need to dust it quite as much as I did either!  Otherwise it turned out beautiful… although my length cutting skills need some work because some were longer than others.  I think if I cut my pasta sheets into the same lengths before I run them through the spaghetti cutter that might work best so everything is uniform.  It will be exciting to try some other types like spinach pasta now too!

Leave a Reply

