Ginger Snap Crust Pie


I was home yesterday and feeling ambitious so I decided to try to make something for dessert without having to go to the grocery store to buy anything.  I came up with a sort of cheese/pudding pie with a ginger snap crust.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Every year for Christmas we get a tin of ginger snaps and I was reading recipes with graham cracker crusts which I didn’t have so I decided to crush up a bunch of ginger snaps (1.5 cups to be exact) and then mixed it with 6 tablespoonsful of melted butter and then pressed it into the bottom of my pie tin like you would with a graham cracker crust.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

The filling was one small container of cream cheese (not sure exactly how they measure, maybe 8 ounces? whatever the smallest tub is or a cardboard package.. I think those are the same or similar), and then a package of instant chocolate pudding mix and a cup of milk.  I was worried it would get the crust all soggy and it would all fall apart but the butter in the crust set it when I put it into the fridge to chill and the cheese/pudding mix set as well and worked out fine.  It was very ginger snappy so someone who doesn’t like ginger wouldn’t like this, but we liked it and it was dessert without going to the store!

Leave a Reply

