Semi-Failed Sour Cream


Even though it sounds pretty simple I had never made homemade sour cream before today.  The idea of letting cream just sit on the counter for a few days is pretty creepy and goes against everything anybody is ever taught about keeping dairy foods cold.  But today I decided to try it… I looked it up and one site said all you need is either a bit of store sour cream or some vinegar to get it going.  We had store sour cream on hand so I used some of that and skimmed the full cream off the top of my raw milk and combined them in a jar and let them sit for a few days.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Not sure if you can see it very well in the photo but this jar of milk has been sitting for a few days so all of the cream is separated onto the top already and I just poured it off into my smaller jar and added a spoonful of Daisy sour cream to it and then shook it all up to combine.

Unfortunately, since my title is semi-failed sour cream not the best sour cream ever something clearly went wrong!  I don’t know if it’s because we kept picking it up and looking at it and moving it around, or if I used too much or too little Daisy, or maybe Daisy won’t work and I should have tried vinegar. After 24 hours nothing was much different but after 2-3 days it did sour and the creamier parts were separate from a yellowy fluid… kind of like when making cheese and the whey separates from the curd.  Maybe it was whey too, I’m not sure. At least it looked like it had done something but the part that separated still wasn’t as thick and nice as Daisy brand is so something didn’t work.

In fact, now that I am thinking about it I am wondering if the cream needs to be pasteurized first because there are natural antibiotics and antibacterial properties of raw milk that isn’t found in processed milk and I bet those antibodies were fighting the sour cream bacteria and making it hard for them to do the job I wanted them to do.  More research is badly needed and a second try will be forthcoming… for now we’ll stick to our Daisy!

Leave a Reply

