N. Family Christmas


Yesterday Joe and I woke up early again and headed down to Wisconsin to visit my parent’s and do our Christmas with them for the weekend.  This time Cora came with us too and she was super excited to get into the car and go for a ride.  Thankfully she fell asleep for most of the ride and didn’t whine the whole way down like she did in September when we went for an overnight!

The three of us arrived in Wisconsin around lunchtime so we picked up some Wendy’s and had lunch with my dad while we waited for my mom to come home from work so we could open gifts…

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Christmas tree all ready to go!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

As soon as Cora could she made right for the couch and fell asleep sprawled all over.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Which left my mom to sit on a little chair!  We said we would make Cora move but my mom was getting up and down anyways so she let the dog have her comfy spot!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Cora and Joe getting some belly rub time on the couch

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

For supper last night we had a buffet-style meal.  Cora helped supervise the kitchen preparations.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

And sampled food to make sure it was cooked to perfection!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

Supper included cheeses, sausages, crackers, pickles/olives, bread with artichoke dip, veggies and dip, fruit salad, meatballs, eggrolls and shrimp.  Maybe even more but for now that’s all I can remember! It was a very good meal with lots of options!

Then this morning we woke up to snow! People in Wisconsin name their snowstorms (we do not do this in the U.P.) but I believe this particular storm was snowstorm Charlie.  They got about 8 inches so we helped shovel out the driveway after the plows went through.  That is my mom snow blowing around our car in the driveway. I did not take boots.  I can’t remember the last time I have been home for Christmas and seen this much snow so when I was packing I didn’t even think of it.  Often I will pack them just incase the car gets stuck and I need warm feet but this year I never even thought of it… the one time I could have really used them!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

This is the back path behind the house and that is my dad heading back inside.  He shoveled the back of the house and put out corn and peanuts for the squirrels and birds etc.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

My mom cooked us a tasty Christmas supper that included turkey, stuffing, peas, carrots/celery/olives/pickles, two types of cranberry sauce, gravy and salad on the side!

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

We had table pull-crackers first.. those things on the plates, where you grab both ends and they pop apart and have a crown, a joke and a toy inside.  We all wore crowns for a bit but then decorated the dog with them instead!  It was a fair trade…she wears crowns, we feed her turkey from the table 🙂

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

We finished off the night with a good game of Pictionary and some tasty chocolate cheesecake for dessert!

Leave a Reply

