CSA Share #7 and Taco Night


Today we got another new CSA share!  I know I never posted how we used our sixth share and that’s because I really can’t remember anymore.  I did take a few photos but I was more preoccupied with getting things ready for our Iron Man trip that I didn’t keep up with my recording of what we did and then a couple of things went all wilty and went to the chickens.  Oh well! We ate what we could and nothing was wasted either way 🙂 Good Enough!

This week our share includes:

  • Kale
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Lettuce
  • Raddichio
  • Watermelon
  • Brussel sprout tops
  • Cucumber
  • Tomatoes
  • Jalapenos
  • Fennel

Not sure what to do with the fennel but everything else should be pretty easy for us to use up! I am interested to cut into the watermelon and see how that tastes! I’m not a huge watermelon fan but I will eat it and I wonder if I will like this better because it is so fresh.  I will have to let you know!

Tonight for Supper, Joe cooked for us again!, we had tacos, with homemade salsa and guacamole.  The tacos turned out tasty, they were pork roast and the guacamole was good (because I made it and just dumped in a store seasoning packet so I didn’t do anything adventurous or shady to it).  Joe’s salsa was pretty good, but the CSA tomatoes were super sweet and more inclined to make pasta sauce than salsa so no matter how much spice or peppers he put in it it still never got very hot… so we ate a bit of it, and then saved the whole bowlful of it to use as pasta sauce for the next days’ supper! 🙂  We also had refried beans with chiles in them on the side.

 

Leave a Reply

