CSA Share #3 – How we used it


Here is the list of what was in our third CSA share.  Unfortunately I didn’t do an amazing job of using everything before it wilted. I have mentioned before that I find it hard to keep everything fresh in our fridge.  Even after a day some of the stuff is getting too wilty to use.  I don’t know if it is the fridge or the temperature or something else I am doing wrong but it causes some of our fresh produce to go to the chickens.  I did buy a set of produce saving tupperware a couple of days ago to try out with our CSA share 4 which is coming this Saturday. I couldn’t find those green bags but these containers advertise that they will keep stuff fresher for longer so I am hoping they work and that I can get our share stuff to fit into them!

  • Kale
  • Salad turnips
  • Scallions
  • Jalapenos
  • Snow Peas
  • Mustard
  • Arugula
  • Sorrel
  • Bitter head lettuce
  • Baby pac choi

This meal used up much of the arugula as salad with some tomato and salad turnips.  We also had steak and bacon sauteed scallops and Brussels sprouts.

The day after we got our share Joe had to go to Washington D.C. for a couple of days for work.  While he was gone I just made easy pasta with sorrel, scallions and a bit of the mustard (I should really try to find something else to use sorrel for, it always goes into pasta!) The rest of the mustard got too wilty before I figured out how to use it so the rabbit got some and the chickens as well.  At least it wasn’t wasted!

This roasted red pepper and tomato pasta used the rest of the arugula.I added smoked sausage to it too.

This meal consisted of crockpot pot roast, steamed carrots and baby pac choi, deep fried beet chips (not amazing but I tried), and curried brown rice, chickpeas and tomatoes.

This meal I tried to make fish tacos but I thought it would be easiest to buy fish sticks.  I was going to buy fresh white fish but didn’t make it to the fish store.  I also bought gigantic tortillas so they were huge…smaller would have been better! We had them with lettuce and then tartar sauce made with spicy pickles and jalapenos.  On the side was garlic buttered snow peas.

The kale we ate in a sauteed kale dish but I didn’t get a photo of that, the turnip greens and the bitter head lettuce got too wilty to eat so those went to the chickens, and the remaining jalapenos are still in the fridge.  I plucked four huge ones off of our plant too and we have plans to stuff them but haven’t done so yet.  They last longer though so we still have plenty of time!

Leave a Reply

