CSA Share #3 & 2012 Canal Run


This morning Joe and I ran in the 37th annual Canal Run.  Originally it was just going to be me this year but last night Joe decided at the last minute that he would do it too! We both competed in the 10 mile run this year, Joe did the 10 mile last year but I only did 5 so this year it was fun for us to do the same one.  We each had a good race and finished in 1:42 and 1:48 respectively.  Joe’s hamstring hurt him but he finished and made it just fine!  After the race we headed home to shower, pick up our CSA share and then we went shooting for awhile in the afternoon.  Right now Joe is cooking us an awesome supper that I will share probably tomorrow and then we are meeting my coworkers and their families for bowling/hanging out because one of the girls was leaving and now two girls are leaving us about a week apart so it will be fun to hang out one last time.  One of the ladies is moving to Seattle so no one will see her for awhile but the other one is just moving to a different pharmacy so she will still be around! I’m not sure if the second one is coming out tonight or not since it was her daughters 5th birthday party today and the kids might be wiped out already by the time bowling comes around.

This is what our third CSA share looks like this week.  It is very green!

It includes:

  • Kale
  • Salad turnips
  • Scallions
  • Jalapenos
  • Snow Peas
  • Mustard
  • Arugula
  • Sorrel
  • Bitter head lettuce
  • Baby pac choi

A couple of things we are having some for supper including arugula, turnip and scallion and the rest we will have to see! I think we will need to use most things quickly because I still haven’t figured out how to keep the greens from wilting in the fridge. I did see some produce saver tupperware at the store so maybe I will need to try those since I can’t find the green bags. I only didn’t get them because they aren’t as versatile and I will need to cut things in half or into pieces to save them in tupperware.  I guess in pieces is better than wilted though!

Leave a Reply

