Zucchini or Zucchini-Carrot Bread


Today I worked late and Joe and I had chilli-cheese dogs and cut up veggies for supper when I came home.  We watched a little bit of TV then and then I had to go to bed because I work tomorrow too.  So for today I’ll post the zucchini-carrot bread I made earlier in the week from some zucchini that I bought to make chicken skewers with but then never did so I had to find something else to do with them. It took me awhile but I finally found a recipe for bread that was reasonably healthy and didn’t contain something ridiculous like a whole cup of oil.  Then of course, in my usual way, I adjusted the recipe a bit to what I wanted 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups shredded zucchini (or 3 cups zucchini and no carrot)
  • 0.5 cup shredded carrot
  • 2/3 cup regular apple sauce
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups unbleached, all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1/3 cup crushed walnuts

I used two smaller pans to cook mine but you could use loaf pans, a larger brownie pan or muffin pans instead.  My two smaller, clear glass pans took about 50-55 minutes to cook at 350 degrees.  It is still pretty high in sugar unfortunately (although they taste good!) and I think next time I might use a bit less, or buy unsweetened apple sauce instead and I wonder if they would taste good still with all whole wheat or half and half which would be a bit healthier and add some more fiber, or maybe some flax seeds in it… we’ll see, usually when I change the recipe too much it ends up gross.  This time was just enough to keep it tasty!

One pan for us to eat right away and the other went into the freezer for next week or maybe the week after.  We just ate it plain but butter would be good and now that I’m thinking about it cream cheese would be good too.  We even have cream cheese but I never thought of it and now the first pan is gone.  Next time!

24 Servings: Calories 123, Calories from fat 17, 1.9 grams of fat, 24 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram fiber, 3 grams protein.  It also has Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Calcium, Iron, Selenium, Omega 3 oils, thiamin, niacin, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, folate, magnesium, phosphorus, manganese, potassium, zinc, copper, and vitamin K. So while it is still high in sugar, its also full of healthy items as well and with a bit more tweaking I think the sugar could be reduced!

Leave a Reply

