Beef Barley Soup


My superfoods book counts barley as a super food, so tonight we are trying some beef barley soup.  We have both had it from a can of course, but I don’t think we have ever made it here.  Barley is a good source of fiber, antioxidants, phytochemicals, niacin, thiamin, selenium, iron, magnesium, zinc, phosphorus and copper.  There are also onions, carrots, celery, tomatoes, dried swiss chard and peas in our soup which add additional vitamins/minerals and antioxidants which include… lycopene, vitamin A, vitamin C, potassium, numerous B vitamins, calcium, folate, zinc, vitamin E, vitamin K, and manganese.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked beef
  • 1 cup barley, quick cook or regular
  • 4 cups beef stock
  • 4-6 cups of water
  • 1 can diced tomato
  • 1-2 carrots cut up
  • 1 celery stalk cut up
  • 1 onion cut up
  • Salt, pepper, oregano and basil to taste
  • 1/2-1 cup of peas (optional)
  • handful of crumbled dried greens (optional and most people probably won’t have these on hand!)

I bought a beef roast to make this and just cut it in half to save some for later.  I put the beef roast in my crock pot along with everything except the barley and peas.  I bought quick cook barley that takes about 10 minutes to cook on the stove top so I added the barley and peas in about an hour before we wanted to eat just incase I could overcook barley… I’m not sure how that works so I was careful.  Regular barley needs more time so that might be ok in the crockpot all day but since I don’t know much about barley I don’t know if it would work or not.  Since I was home today I took the roast out after a few hours to shred it, if I had been working I would have done it when I put the peas and barley in or just before we served it, I don’t think it matters much.

I think in the end even my quick barley overcooked a little bit but it still tasted fine, it was just a pit puffier than it looks in the canned soup. We had it with bread sticks and spinach/arugula salad with broccoli, red peppers and cheese.  Joe added some extra spices to his soup too which made it hotter/spicier but better.  I’m not good at tasting spices so I can’t usually tell what something needs.

Today was my last short week of using up my vacation days because my days reset today so this morning Buddy and I went to the vet and then the rest of the day I didn’t do too much besides one load of laundry and the normal feeding everyone.   Buddy’s numbers are still coming down, ridiculously slowly, but they are still moving so we are continuing to inject him with subcutaneous fluids twice a day.  This time we have at least 2 more weeks and the way it has been going we may have more after that too!

See the big mess Cora makes when she eats sometimes? She almost needs one of those bags that horses have to eat from in front of their mouths. 🙂  Buddy thought I was going to get him something tasty even though he already had his supper so he actually looked at me for a picture!

Leave a Reply

