Made up Leftovers Casserole


Today I work late so I wanted to make something for supper this morning so that Joe won’t have to cook later after he is done with work and training… thankfully today at least he shouldn’t have to plow too!

We had 3 leftover chicken thighs from last night, partial bags/containers of broccoli, peas and grape tomatoes, and about three-quarters of a package of velveeta cheese.  Plus we had homemade broth in the freezer and tons of rice and milk so that is what turned into our supper!

Not the peanut butter though!  That is just on the counter because I eat it everyday and don’t usually put it away.

I ended up measuring what I had just to see what was in it so here were my ingredients:

  • 2 cups uncooked white rice
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 10oz frozen broccoli
  • 2oz frozen peas
  • 2.5oz fresh grape tomatoes
  • 12oz Velveeta
  • 8oz cooked chicken
  • 1 cup whole milk

I cooked the rice in the broth and while that was going I shredded the chicken.  I was originally going to use brown rice but when I looked at the 45 minute cook time I decided maybe I would just use white rice with a 20 minute cook time instead!  Using real rice and not Minute rice is a lot different and I never think to cook a bunch of rice ahead of time to have ready so lately we haven’t eaten much rice.  The chicken had seasoned breading on it from last night and I shredded most of that as well and tossed it in the bowl with the chicken so I didn’t add much else for seasoning since I figured that would do it just fine.  Once the rice was done I dumped the chicken into that pot and in a separate pot I mixed the milk, Velveeta, frozen vegetables and tomatoes and I cooked it until the cheese was melted and the veggies were thawed and then I dumped that into the bigger rice/chicken pot and mixed it altogether.  Then it went into a casserole dish (which I sprayed with cooking spray just incase!) and I sprinkled a bit of season salt and paprika on top to make it pretty and it went into the fridge for later.

I figured it wouldn’t be all that healthy with all the cheese in it, even with the few vegetables but when I entered it into the recipe analyzer that I like it turned out reasonable.  For daily requirements it has about 30% calcium, 56% vitamin C, 16% iron, and 16% vitamin A.  Plus a good amount of protein and carbohydrates.  It has probably a bit too much fat for one recipe and it doesn’t have much fiber (2g/serving) but using brown rice and a bit less Velveeta would probably fix that and if I had had a whole bag of frozen broccoli I would have used the entire thing too for more vegetables.  At least we should have plenty for supper and lunches tomorrow which is nice, and maybe I’ll bring home some lettuce for salad to go with it or something.  I think I could handle that!

I keep meaning to take some pictures of our newest snow, some of our snow banks are a least as tall as Buddy and Cora now but I never remember to take my camera outside with me… maybe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

