Turkey Bean Soup with Fresh Bread


Yesterday while I was at work Joe did a bunch of stuff outside (mostly consolidating trash from when we expanded the chicken coop and burning a lot of burnables) so today after we both got home we had plans to get rid of the trash so this morning I planned ahead and made turkey, bean soup in the crockpot.  Similar to the soup  I made a few weeks ago, I started with a bag of multi-bean soup mix and then added shredded turkey, diced tomatoes, a little chicken broth, a lot of water and some seasonings (salt, pepper, oregano, chili powder…whatever works for the day) and then cooked it in the crockpot all day.

We made three trips, two of metal (including some sort of chicken processing equipment..a plucker maybe? I don’t know…and a huge water heater that Joe had to lift into the scrap metal bin by himself.) and then one trip of regular trash too.  Now our yard looks better and we don’t look like trash people! When we got home I made some bread quick to go with our soup.  Generally my bread does not turn out very well but the other day I searched for breadstick recipes and I found this one here and miraculously it actually worked for me! Granted, I made my breadsticks too big so they resembled hot dog buns… but they baked and were edible.  So today I decided to be all adventurous and I decided to take the breadstick recipe, adjust it, and turn it into bread instead.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose or bread flour
  • 1/2 cup specialty flour, or use regular flour again

Preheat the oven to 450 degree F. Add the yeast to the water and let it sit for a couple of minutes.  Then add in the salt, sugar and olive oil and begin mixing (I used our stand mixer), slowly add in the flour (both kinds if you used two different) until it is completely mixed together.  Then dump it onto a floured surface and kneed for a few minutes.  Split the dough into 8 pieces for rolls/breadsticks or leave it all together and put it in a bread pan, or shape it and put it on a regular pan and let it sit to rise for about 20 minutes (I fed the chickens and then came back to bake it).  Bake for about 20 minutes or until it is golden coloured and looks done.  Easy enough!  Today I used bread flour and 1/2 cup of Dark Rye flour that we had on hand as my special flour and the other day when I made breadsticks I used all regular all-purpose flour…it all worked fine.  We have rice flour right now too and I think I might try that to see how that goes…

I didn’t use a bread pan… I just shaped my loaf and plunked it onto a baking pan with a silpat on it and let it turn into whatever shape it wanted 🙂

At the last minute, before I left for work this morning, I tossed some dried rainbow chard into our soup as well for some extra healthy stuff.  Earlier in the summer I dried some of our greens because we had more than we could eat at the time and now I have a little bit for the winter.  I wish I had thought to preserve more of our own food… maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

