Pumpkin Muffins


Using up some of my pumpkin puree… I ended up making pumpkin muffins because Joe vetoed the pumpkin chilli I was going to make a few weeks ago! 🙂 We had regular chilli without pumpkin instead.  I think my pumpkin supply is just about gone now too and I don’t know if I will get more pie pumpkins because they were so annoying to chop in half… maybe though after the holidays when they are super cheap I will and I’ll just spend an hour or two fighting with them.  I’ve read people put them in their crockpots whole too without cutting them first… I may try that, it sounds easier!

Cora says she would like a muffin please. 🙂 I followed this recipe here which I thought was pretty nice and easy and it even used whole wheat flour which we have on hand, but don’t use as often, and you couldn’t even tell when they were finished that they were all whole wheat… perfect!  Our pumpkin was a little dry so I did have to add in a bit more liquid but it worked great anyways.  I think I may try them again and try to replace the butter with applesauce… I know you can replace oil with applesauce in most baking recipes, I don’t think it quite works the same with butter since it is a solid fat but maybe I can get it to work… we’ll see, I’m not sure how much pumpkin I have left in the freezer but if I do have some I may try it out!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

    • It was really only the size of a normal muffin! Not a giant one or anything but my pictures come out goofy sometimes! I did have to over stuff the muffin tins though so they did stick out of the top a bit more than usual.

Leave a Reply

