CSA Share #9


Today we received our final CSA share of the year.  It was full of tasty fall vegetables that I’m excited to eat!

Our share included:

  • 2 acorn squash
  • a big bunch of carrots
  • parsley
  • clover sprouts
  • 1lb sweet potatoes
  • Kale
  • Oregano

I’m excited to eat the acorn squash and to try the sweet potatoes.  I always love sprouts and I’m sure we’ll figure out what to do with the carrots, kale and herbs!  Since this is the final share for the season I’m also planning to calculate the cost of all of the food we received if we had purchased it from the store so stay tuned for that… I have to go to the store sometime when it is a little bit quieter so I don’t look like a big dork writing down all those prices! I’m interested to see how much it would have cost us otherwise, although it won’t quite be accurate because most of the store produce is not organic and the produce we got this summer is pretty much organic… I don’t think they are certified or anything but they don’t use any pesticides etc. so it is pretty close.  We’ll see!

One thought on “CSA Share #9

  1. Pingback: Our CSA 2011 review « Joe and Maddie: Learning to Live Healthier on a Hobby Farm in Michigan's Upper Peninsula

Leave a Reply

