Spicy Tuna Pasta


The other night I wanted something easy and tasty to make for sure so I decided to make something with tuna.  Joe doesn’t really love tuna casseroles so I didn’t make a casserole I made a different tuna pasta that he said was alright.  I thought it was tasty and had it for lunch for two more days.

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces of dry pasta, I used a whole box of bow-tie pasta
  • 3 Tablespoons of olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/2-1 tsp red pepper flakes, or more to taste… I used a lot more.
  • 1 cup roughly chopped kalamata or Greek mixed olives
  • 6 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tsp. basil
  • 2 cans tuna (I used one in oil and one in water, see my picture below)
  • salt/pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to box directions and toss it in a tablespoon of olive oil when it is finished cooking so it doesn’t stick together.
  2. In 2 tablespoons of the oil cook the garlic and olives for a couple minutes and then add the tomatoes for a couple more minutes… depending on how cooked you want your tomatoes.  I don’t love raw tomatoes so I cooked ours a little bit longer so they were like half cooked at least.
  3. Next add in the tuna… I dumped in all of the juices from both cans to add to the sauce
  4. Finally add in the basil, pepper flakes and then any salt/regular pepper to taste and heat until it is all warm and mixed together.
  5. I just dumped the tuna mixture into the noodles and combined it all because the sauce liquid is thin and that way it coats the noodles better instead of just serving it on top of noodles and having juice all over the place.

StarKist came out with this new flavoured tuna and I found a coupon to try a can so this is the tuna I used as the tuna in oil can.. it is hard to see but it was sweet and spicy pepper tuna and it worked well.  The other can was just plain, generic normal tuna packed in water.

I didn’t know olives would be good with tuna and pasta and never would have done it on my own… I had an original recipe from the Food Network that gave me the idea but I skipped/changed most of it so I won’t bother posting them both.  My version turned out perfectly tasty and it was easy enough to make.

Leave a Reply

