Pumpkin Pancakes (with nutrition) and Other Pumpkin Links


A few days ago I made pumpkin puree from some pie pumpkins so yesterday morning I wanted to make pumpkin pancakes.  They had a lot less ingredients and I thought they would turn out better than if I tried to make pumpkin muffins or bread, although I have lots more pumpkin so I’m sure those will be made too.  Did you know the dogs love pumpkin? I think Buddy begs for pumpkin pancakes like he begs for cheese and both dogs want to eat as many pumpkin seeds as you’ll give them!

Pumpkin Pancakes – This recipe is pretty much what is on the Bisquick website, although I changed it a tiny bit so that I could use just one measuring cup instead of two.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups of Heart Smart Bisquick
  • 1/2 cup canned or homemade pureed pumpkin (but not pie filling)
  • 1 1/4 cups milk (I used our whole milk)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (or 1/2tsp ground cinnamon and 1/4tsp each ground ginger and nutmeg)
  • 2 eggs

Toppings:

  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • syrup

Mix them up like you would any other pancake and cook like normal!  Mine made 14 good sized pancakes. The pumpkin flavour really isn’t that strong in these pancakes and I wonder if I could add more pumpkin next time but they did taste good so maybe they are just fine the way they are.  The recipe suggests sprinkling with some pecans and then the syrup (or butter or whatever you want to add on top!).  We didn’t have pecans so I sprinkled slivered almonds on top and those were good, although I’m sure pecans would be better!

Approximate Nutritional Info per Pancake (does not count nuts, syrup, butter on top etc., based on 14 pancakes total, whole milk and commercially canned pumpkin… I used homemade and I wonder if commercially prepared has extra sodium in it or other preservatives… so values may vary a little!)

Calories 140, calories from fat 59, Fat 6.6 grams (10%), saturated fat 1.4g (7%), cholesterol 29mg (10%), sodium 248mg (10%), Carbohydrates 17.7g (6%), Fiber 0.7g(3%), Protein 3.2g, Vitamin A 15%, Calcium 11%, Vitamin C 0%, Iron 5%.

Recently I found this website that will calculate the nutrition for an entire recipe if you just type in the ingredients.  I’ve only used it a few times now but the first time I double checked with my own values and it seems to be accurate! This saves so much time over calculating everything separately by hand… which of course I usually don’t do unless I’m really curious, because it takes so long, but now this is so much easier and I might do it more often.

Other Pumpkin Recipes – Here are two ways to make pumpkin puree and then some other interesting looking pumpkin recipes which I haven’t tried but might have to just to see what we can do with pumpkin!  I’m guessing I’ll have to buy more pumpkins and make more puree myself… maybe a pumpkin saw is in order!

Pumpkin Puree – Roasted in the oven, from Pioneer Woman

Pumpkin Puree – Done in a crockpot, from the Happy Housewife

Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin Butter – made with yogurt

Pumpkin Latte – this is on my to do list now, pumpkin in my coffee!

Pumpkin Dip

Pumpkin Chili – made in the crockpot, I think I might cook this tomorrow, it is supposed to be the coldest day of the week and I’m cooking a chicken in the crockpot today so I will already have it out on the counter!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

