CSA Share #7


Happy Birthday to Joe’s mom today!

 

Today we’re getting up and going a little slowly.  It is 11:19 in the morning and we just finished breakfast 🙂  Friday I told Joe I bought biscuits and sausage so he thought I was making biscuits and gravy yesterday except I was really just making egg sandwiches which he doesn’t like as much so I promised that today I would make biscuits and gravy for breakfast.  Except yesterday I forgot to buy everything for it… I’m not usually good at making biscuits (or gravy!) so I just buy them packaged.  So this morning I was forced to make both the biscuits and gravy from scratch.  Thankfully it turned out just fine, although I did need to make the gravy twice before it turned out good!  So our breakfast was really more like a brunch by the time we were finished.  This afternoon we are going to run to town quick and then we’re going to go back outside and work on more fence posts, today is finally a nice fall day instead of cold and rainy.  I also want to finish up some inside things like laundry and mopping today too.  I don’t know if I will continue painting the porch today or not… and last night we were supposed to have flat iron steak, perch and CSA veggies for supper but neither of us wanted to cook so we ate fish sticks, salad and canned ravioli (Joe asked if I was going to put that picture on my blog and I said definitely not!) so tonight we’ll probably have that for supper if we feel like making it at least!

Yesterday we picked up our 7th CSA share, there are still 2 more to go and I am planning on calculating how much it would have cost at the store to buy all of that produce!

CSA Share #7 included:

  • 2 cucumbers
  • 2 onions
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 2 apples
  • green cherry tomatoes (to make relish with the apples and jalapeno)
  • red cherry tomatoes
  • potatoes (in the bag on the back left)
  • carrots
  • cilantro
  • parsley

I love the carrots and want to make those for supper for sure, they just look so pretty.  I’m not sure if I will get around to making tomato relish today or not, and I’m still debating about tomato pickles or salsa as well so we’ll see! Joe made us some tomatillo salsa yesterday and used a lot of the cilantro and the potatoes and onions will be easy to use!  I still have the cucumbers left from the last share so I’m thinking maybe I could make a jar of pickles out of the four of them too.

 

One thought on “CSA Share #7

  1. Pingback: Our CSA 2011 review « Joe and Maddie: Learning to Live Healthier on a Hobby Farm in Michigan's Upper Peninsula

Leave a Reply

