Chilli for a Late Night


Today is another late night for me so I cooked supper this morning so Joe wouldn’t have to later tonight and then he can either eat earlier, or if he waits for me we won’t eat too too late either since we won’t need to cook anything.  I put ground beef in the fridge a couple of days ago to thaw so this morning I wandered in our pantry to figure out something to make with it that isn’t tacos or spaghetti because I make those an awful lot.  So, even though it is still technically summer, I decided to make a pot of chilli and some rice to go with it.  It does cool down at night now so at least we won’t be roasting hot while we eat it!

I didn’t have any canned beans today and I didn’t have time to cook dried beans so our chilli is beanless.  Beyond that I used…

  • 3/4lb ground beef
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 5-6 minced garlic cloves
  • 1 large can and 1 small can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato sauce
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1/2tsp coriander
  • 1tsp cumin
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1tsp oregano
  • 2-3tsp chilli power
  • 2-3Tbsp. masa flour
  • 2tsp sugar

I cooked the ground beef, onion and garlic together and then drained most of the fat off the beef.  I added the tomato products and a little bit of water (half a can full just so there was a bit more liquid) and then added the seasonings and masa after it had simmered for a few minutes.  I think it tastes good but my nose is pretty stuffy from allergies today and I’m not sure that I can taste very well so we’ll see how Joe likes it later!

I had to put some in a bowl for a picture, so now I have to go running and feed the chickens and then I can eat some lunch before I go off to work for the day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chilli for a Late Night

    • Mmmm. I never thought of that, we don’t have any fava beans right now but I never would have thought of those for chili. That’s a good idea! We just had them the one week from our CSA and I have never seen them in the stores etc. I wonder if our Co-Op might have them sometimes though, I should check…those would be easy beans to add to chili for sure.

Leave a Reply

