Recent Recipes


Here are some links to a few recipes we’ve used in the past few days…

Macaroni and Cheese and Sorrel. I’m not entirely sure the leaves I used were sorrel, but I’m fairly sure. 🙂 I’ve been getting confused on all of the greens on our CSA share but I matched pictures and I’m thinking it was sorrel.  I also added some cherry tomatoes, green onions, garlic scapes, leftover peas from the fridge and some nitrate-free hot dogs.

Bite-Sized Spaghetti Nests with Chard and BaconBut, we didn’t have chard so I think I used Kale (again I’m not entirely sure but I matched pictures and I’m pretty sure!).  I don’t know how chard compares to kale but I used it anyways.  Joe wasn’t such a fan of these…but I don’t think it was the recipe’s fault I think it was all my fault… our small muffin pan was dirty so I made them bigger than bite-sized, using leftover noodles that I think ended up overcooked and too crunchy in the oven.  Then I tried to put pesto sauce on them. Bite sized, less cooked would be super tasty and I might try them again sometime.

Burrito Casserole.  Into the ground beef I also added some bean sprouts and some braising greens and then on top we had some CSA share lettuce too.  I wanted to try making homemade sour cream but I didn’t start it soon enough and I guess it takes a couple of days to do.  I’m also hesitant to leave cream on the counter for a few days and then eat it… I know it will sour (obviously) instead of going rancid… but it still seems weird to leave a dairy product out for 48 hours and then think to eat it! Eventually we’ll try it!

Lemon-Blueberry Bread. Which somehow I did not take a picture of! It came out pretty tasty though although I didn’t have a whole lemon on hand.  I did have a sad lonely orange that needed to be used though so I made Orange-Blueberry bread instead and it worked just fine!

No link or recipe for this one but it turned out tasty.  I picked up Szechuan style stir-fry sauce at the grocery store and used a little bit of pork and one chicken breast along with carrot, the last of the bean sprouts, pak choi, tomato, red/yellow/orange peppers and the remainder of our braising greens from our CSA share. We had it over a mix of white and brown rice (mostly because I didn’t realize we were almost out of both types of rice!)

Leave a Reply

